an old cynic's view

By superhero

The things you find in the loft !!!!

No one will ever tell me this was not the famous claret jug, what a day this was.
I had never won anything in my life on a sporting field. I was the 200-1 outsider at the start according to the Bookies in the club and John Swan was the only one who had any faith in me.
It was run by one of the members to raise funds and as John had a fiver on me to win no funds were raised lol.
In the semi final the turning point came at the first play off hole when I hit my drive right down the middle and the adrenalin was flowing.
I was off 16 and the guy I was playing was off 3 ,I pulled out a 7 iron and my nephew Alan ,my caddy who was 14 years old, said "dont be daft its a six iron and took the 7 from me. I was getting a stroke and my shot sailed over the pin and I was screaming down ,down,and it hit the bank at the back of the green and trickled down to 3 ft from the pin. my opponent missed the green and walked up and shook hands.
The final on the Sunday I was 3 up after the first 3 holes so my main job then was just keep the ball in play for the rest of the round .
Paul played well but I hit every fairway all the way round and eventually won 3 and 2
I remember it as if it was yesterday and I was so chuffed.
Alas since my illness struck I gave up the only game I was ever any good at when on the verge of becoming a single figure golfer.
Seeing this today has me very emotional as it was a fantastic day not only for me but for John who won a few quid and skint the bookie.
Along time ago 1997

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.