Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Macro Faffing!

First off, thanks to Lorenzo for teaching me my favorite word last year - faffing! Actually, not sure about the spelling, can't find it in Websters...

I finished the deck in record time this morning which left the entire rest of the day for faffing around which led me to pick up the close up rings and well...you can see the rest. Next thing you know I was laying flat out on my belly on the walkway, ipod favorites playing softly in my hearing ear, with small things in my magnified sights! Gosh, I'd forgotten how much fun it is to get really, really, really close to stuff! I took my first common fly of the year, won't be the last. However, it was the common dandelion that captured my interest the most - I mean, seriously, have you SEEN what's going on in the center of these littel weeds? It's like a pollen forest in there.

Somewhere along the way, I noticed that the birds were flying away quickly - very quickly. Ever aware that bears can be cranky this time of year, I sprang up (well, sprang is a gross exaggeration, more like staggered) only to realize that I'd apparently been singing along to the ipod at ever-increasing volume. You should know that I have a terrible singing voice. Really, really terrible. No wonder the birds took off in such a hurry, poor things are probably scarred for life. I got my "singing voice" from my mom. Thanks Mom. (and I love you anyway!)

I had a small "incident" this morning while staining the deck. Had to happen I suppose. I moved to quickly, brain couldn't keep up with feet, and I stumbled right into the stain bucket which promptly tipped over all over the deck. Oops. Don't tell my hubs, okay? One bath towel has now been sacrificed to the deck project. Again, oops.

Hope you are all having a great day, whether faffing or not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.