My Mini Adventure

By JJ46

Recovery - Day 27

Thought I'd blip an update photo today.

Last time I blipped my scar it was still a wound, but it was only day 9 of my recovery from spinal surgery. As you can see it has improved a lot. It is very neat and clean and much shorter than I expected. My surgeon did a wonderful job. There is a bobbly bit at the top but I'm sure that will improve. I have now started applying the Bio Oil which has served me well in the past.

My recovery in general is going well, I think. I keep pushing myself to my limits and beyond and getting frustrated when my body doesn't behave the way I want or expect it to. My right arm and hand are causing me the most worry - am still unable to write as any touch feels either totally numb or like a cheese grater! One extreme to the other. I also have shooting pains which come and go here too. As for my shoulder and back, I still have pain here but not all the time anymore (which is good). High-backed chairs are better as they give more support. When the pain comes here it is usually quite severe.

It may not sound like it but I feel things are improving... but oh so slowly. I must be patient. After all, this is why I have been signed off work until June.

Still no news on seeing a physiotherapist. I think I should chase this up as I was told it would form an important role in the recovery process.


In other news. I had a lovely email from my oldest friend today who emigrated to New Zealand a couple of years ago. Hearing from her always cheers me up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.