Adam's Images

By ajt

Dead Case Fan

We had lots of heavy clouds today but no rain, which is a problem as the ground is looking serious parched round here. I left for work with a little trepidation when I saw the clouds but needn't have worried it threatened all day but nothing happened.

Today my replacement PSU and fan arrived for my home server. The case fan has always tended to "squeal" at times but over the weekend it went permanent. I'm sure the cheap sleeve bearings have worn out - they are about 2 years beyond their designed life span. The PSU was okay but had also always been a tad on the noisy side, so I got another Novatech Silent PSU to replace it as I was so happy with the one I installed in my desktop when it's died a few months ago.

After work we went for swim so my computer heart surgery was delayed for an hour or so. After dinner I opened up the case and removed the old fan and PSU and installed the new one. Just over half an hour later it's all booted up again and working fine and it's an awful lot quieter. It still has a CPU fan and two hard disks whirring round but now the case fan isn't squealing.

As I didn't buy a blingy fan with multi-coloured LEDs, just a low noise hydraulic bearing fan and it's my my server fanning I don't have a blip of it. Instead the blip for today is the one I took out. I have blipped it spinning, which actually looked quite good, but this one looks more dramatic. For those that worry, the dust on the fan has built up in only a few months since I last stripped the old fan out to lube it to eke out a few more months of life out of it... If you don't like dirt don't look inside a computer...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.