Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Good Day LA

Few pics today, so it's something simple.

It's been months since we've been to Ocean Park and the playground top right in the image. We used to come here for the beach, park and free coffee Tuesdays then onto the library for Mr Jesse's story time. Aw. I was thinking fondly of those days as we strolled along.

I loved watching Callum play with a big boy today. They were following each other around the park, climbing together. He loves to make new friends. I thought the boy was considerably older being about a head height taller, but he's actually 2 weeks younger than Callum which came as quite a shock. Callum was born 9'2" but is definitely on the smaller side whilst my own brothers are very tall.

At one point, I saw Callum and his new friend Ash running around and collide into each other, bumping heads. Ash started crying and Callum was trying to comfort him, following him around until he could give him a hug to make him feel better. Ash then buried his head in the sand and again, Callum followed him, lying down next to him and asking him "Are you ok?". His mother thought it very sweet. I felt a great sense of pride. Callum was forgiven. That said, within about an hour he was screaming at me for reapplying sunscreen. Ah how quickly the moods do change. When Ash left, Callum found a new friend, a sweet little girl and when we all departed, she too was given a lovely big hug. I wonder what concept kids have at his age for understanding age. I certainly thought the boy much older with his big boy trainers and longer hair and looked back at Callum thinking how babylike his face still sweetly is.

The boys are playing in the garden now making mud pies as I look out on them from office. I think I'll join them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.