0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

Southpaw

I was doing some online research today to help myself in the challenge: 'Stereotype'. Most of the examples I came across I had heard of before, except this: 'Left-handed people are more intelligent'.

I did a bit more digging and found out that around 10% of the people reading this will be left-handed, and left-handedness is a habit which develops as early as within the womb.

The most shocking revelation for me was that left-handedness was associated with sinister or evil connotations in many societies (and still is in some countries). In some cases school children were made to tie their left hands behind their backs, in an effort to force them to write with their "correct" hand!

Whether the stereotype is true or not is difficult to say, some studies suggest left-handed people use different parts of the brain and are therefore more likely to excel in areas than right-handed people, but this can also work in the opposite way. All I know is I'm happy to class myself in the 10% minority.

For the shot I actually wanted to show both my hands/palms with the captions, but couldn't get the balance quite right. Eventually I found a close-up worked better and I purposely reversed the captions to highlight my interpretation of the stereotype.

So, which hand do you write with? :)

Our Daily Challenge (ODC): STEREOTYPE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.