Different worlds

On a wall in a car park near where I stay, there has been a painting for many years. The first one was one that remained untouched by anyone for many years making its statement in picture and the words "Paint the wall grey; and the mind will follow".

After I joined blipfoto, I thought it would make a good blip, and then the alterations and additions began and over the last 18 months it was vastly modified and then completely painted over with stuff that made no comment.

About a week ago, this appeared on the wall. I had seen it a couple of times before this morning, when passing and focussed on walking along the street. I saw it as two boys fishing. I decided it would be a good picture to take, and stopped and looked closely and saw the reality of the painting.

Instead of an idyllic scene, we are shown the contrasting lives of young people around the world. In a country such as ours, a boy is able to be a boy and can do something so peaceful as fish quietly. In other countries, through no fault of their own, children are dreadfully abused and damaged and turned into killers with machine guns.

I cannot comprehend the mental contortions of those who treat the children for whom they are responsible in such a way, just as I struggle to comprehend the systematic abuse (which can end in death) of children which while rare is still too common in my country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.