Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Red-tailed Hawk Grabs Mouse

What an amazing day...I went out for a quick walk this morning to see the birds and get in some exercise. Out of the corner of my eye, near a huge riverbed next to our condo, I saw a huge bird. I went over to investigate:) I immediately knew it was a hawk, and as you all know, I'm a bird nut....be still my heart !!!!!

I grabbed the camera and realized how close I was to this magnificent hawk, and was so excited to be getting a couple shot. Then he flew off. Within 30 seconds he returned with a mouse in his claws, and settled down on a light post not more than 25 feet away. This was going to be the best day ever:))

I kept snapping photos, and walking closer, and he could have cared less about whether I was there or not! I shot for at least 20 minutes while he devoured the mouse. I even just stood there for a bit and watched, as I knew this was a once in a lifetime event.

After he finished the mouse meal, he flew to a tree right closeby....I walked over there and kept shooting. The picture I chose was from those tree shots. I chose it because I thought his eye was so amazing!! I still cannot believe that I was so close to this hawk, and that I got to witness this amazing raptor!

If you'd like to see more photos of the mouse meal, visit my Flickr page, Click here for slide show!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.