" Letter from Aunt Lil."

The word that is heard perishes, but the letter that is written remains.
Proverb


The Nora Diary, Day 21

Wrote P.M. about W.S.S.
Pay Day
Stayed home in the
evening.
Letter from Aunt Lil.


A play in progress ...

There Was One Day When She Did Not Work At Her Desk or A Girl of Two Worlds
by Gregory and Betsey Josselyn

Characters
Nora
Gordon
Gregory
Aunt Lil

*

1. Are You Lonesome Tonight?

Charles Hart's Are You Lonesome Tonight? swells.
Gregory lip syncs, with sincerity, to this song with a microphone.
Projected images of the past appear.

2. Aunt Lil at the Microphone

Gregory transforms into Gordon.
A ship.

Eastport, ME
March 19 1919

My Dear Nora,

Your letter has just been received and at your request, I now reply. I was very much surprised, but I am delighted to hear it. I will hate to give you up, but I know Gordon is a fine young man. And I think will do right by you. And if you both try to do as near right as you can, I am sure you will be happy. And that is the whole secret of married life. I have often thought about your future as you already know and wanted to see you well taken care of. It must be many years at the longest, your Uncle Abert and the writer will be here to look after your interest in life. You have been a dear good girl and we both want to see you happy. I think Gordon will be well repaid for his anxious waiting, I know he must be a fine young man to want such a nice lady! I wish I could see you, then I could explain all. You of course know what you want. And he is not so young in years that can't think for himself. When I see you, I will tell you all. Gordon of course will not expect you to go to sea with him. If he should get to be Captain, which I hope he will, if he insists on going to sea, he will stand out in the world. Give him my love and my approval. And may Heavens choice'st blessing ever be yours.

It is the wish of your Aunt and Uncle. I hope you are well and will continue so. Uncle Albert is not very well, but is trying to make the best of it. As this was not intended for a letter of news, I will hasten and mail it.



Lovingly,
Aunt Lillian

Look for doughnuts next week. Uncle Albert will arrange a package for you to be sent on the Eastern Steamship Line.

3. Nora Takes a Glorious Bite of A Doughnut
Music.
Sounds of the sea.

4. Gordon Receives A Letter On Board

Gordon sits at a small wooden table.
We see only the back of his head.
He pulls out a letter from a box.
He speaks into a microphone...


For the Record,
This day came in sunny and crisp with warming temperatures. Off to painting and a Labyrinth walk tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.