Lookabootye

By hcalibrarian

Fincharn Castle

I (annoyingly) forgot to take my camera phone with me when hubby and I were at the Botanic Garden this morning. Lots of blippable opportunities were missed, but we enjoyed ourselves walking through the lovely gardens.

And so here's an indoor blip of one of my father's paintings of Fincharn Castle on Loch Awe. We had several holidays (in a bothy!) nearby when I was a teenager. No electricity or hot water, but they were great holidays.

Here's what Scotland.com says about this 13th century castle:

Fincharn Castle is in ruins with a few sections of walls still standing. It stands on a rocky promontory on the very edge of the southwest shore of Loch Awe. The name, Fincharn is derived from the Celtic Fiannacharn, the "Fingalians' Mound", which is the name given to an unusually large burial cairn located on the nearby Fincharn Farm. The remains of the castle are less than a mile away from the community of Ford.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.