The Great Roberto

By gr8roberto

241

A young fine art lecturer at my college, Manuel Rivero, is to my eyes the person who is most at peace with himself and the world. This photo reminds me of one of his large degree show canvases, whose yellow and ochre oils were so alive and passionate and yet calm and soulful. Manuel is a buddhist, of what particular 'denomination' I am not sure, but I have to reflect whether it is with this fact that I am unduly painting an inexact impression of his true character. I like the guy, I like his paintings, and whenever I talk to him, as I did today (briefly), I come away feeling good about myself and general life situation ~ could it be that people who have a natural predilection to positive karma are destined to become buddhists? Anyway, thank you Manuel, this blip is dedicated to you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.