Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Gostwyck

First of all I am completely overwhelmed by the response on my blipday. I can't thank enough those who commented or just dropped by. What a wonderful community blip is.

On Saturday I drove up to my friend's farm near Walcha but took the long way there via Gostwyck. Many many years ago, my friend was living in Armidale doing her PHd. Her father had a light plane and he would ring and ask if I wanted to come up to Armidale to visit when he was going. He, her mum and I would pile in the plane and go up for a weekend.

Not far from Armidale is Uralla and out from Uralla is a very large sheep property - Gostwyck. It has a huge line of Elm trees lining the road to it and the long drive up to the property. In an intersection of the road and the drive is this Anglican Church (All Saints Anglican). It has become a very popular spot for weddings and I guess you can see why. The virginia creeper had coloured up nicely but the Elms were not really colouring up yet. We often used to come here when visiting all those years ago. It was just as I remembered it.

(PS 5 image HDR)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.