The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Camellia

I guess this sums up this Spring day. It was a wet one, and water drops were collecting on the rose next to the Camellia. It is traditional that it should rain on a Bank Holiday, after all.

I won't complain about the rain, because we needed it. The Lake District reservoirs were tipping towards drought. Droughts unfold rapidly here because the water supply is based on surface water rather than ground water; the reservoirs rely on the high rainfall environment of the Lake District to keep them topped up. But with our increasingly unpredictable climate, long dry spells seem to be becoming more frequent.

Wifie has been suffering with the cold she caught from me. I've been supervising Reg in his explorations of the garden. We did manage to lose him again, and it was the third time of looking at one particular patch in the flower bed that I spotted him hunkered down. Several blippers have made helpful suggestions as to how we could make him more visible; so I shall be off to the pet shop tomorrow to see if I can find a high vis tortoise tabard for him. Alternatively a helium balloon taped to his shell, though with all the overgrown roses we have, I suspect that won't last long.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.