The hunt

I was woken at 4am this morning. 40mins later we were heading north, first stop the Culverden Tea Rooms/Cafe. A pie and coffee was the order of the day. Not my usual fare and I have no idea when I last had a pie but today I just went with the flow.

Another 15 mins or so and we were on the station. It's big, huge and absolutely magnificent. The pig damage is amazing. Imagine a rottery hoe or small earth moving equipment out of control on steep tussock land and you get the picture.

It was all over by 10am. On a cloudless day it's heating up and too dangerous for the dogs. We left 2 young fellas and their Dad in the shearing quarters and the hunter and I headed away. This is the gentle and proud Dad looking down the gully where his 2 sons are preparing to carry a pig up a very steep sloped for several hundred metres.

We picked up chooks on the way and were back at the hunter's place by early afternoon. The hunters 2, pigs 0 on the this occassion. 1 for the freezer of the farmer who owns the station, the other to feed the whaunau/family of a mate with a death in the family. They look after one and another.

I've seen some magnificent country today. Extrordinarily rugged and beautiful, folded and faulted by our smouldering geology.

Another great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.