Tussock Tales

By TussockTales

A Bunch of Pricks

Matagouri, or wild Irishman as it is sometimes called, is a thorny bush or small tree that can grow up to six metres high. It has very small leaves, small greenish-white flowers and characteristic spines that may be several centimetres long. Matagouri is found only in New Zealand and it has no close relatives here, although related species are distributed throughout South America, south-east Australia, Tasmania and the Chatham Islands. OK that's off the New Zealand Department of Conservation website but take it from me this plant hurts! It is very common down here and can inflict wounds and Man (woman) and Dog especially bare legs when tramping and should be avoided. This one is on the top of Mt Iron that The Boss felt compelled to stagger up this morning.
Too much sight seeing says I.
Too much leaving the poor dog at THC says I.
Too many grilled cheese sandwhiches (oh no not cheese) says I

So I ran up the mountain and watched The Boss puff his way up. The locals were amused to find him lying on the grass (slight rain) taking this picture at the top. I stayed away. No I don't know who he is?Sorry

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.