Street Corner Society

By StCornerSociety

Feather

It's been a beautiful sunshiney day in Glasgow, marred by some dark brooding grey clouds that occasionally release little April showers.

The female swan has been building a nest for the last few days so I'm looking forward to seeing some signets again this year. Gillipaw's wonderful 'New arrival' reminded me that when I first moved to Pollokshields there were five signets born and it felt like we started our time together in Glasgow. I went to see them every day. The following year six were born (I think Gillipaw's photo is of one of these six). I heard that one of these signets was eaten by a dog (life is cruel!). The rest weren't growing well and were taken away, along with their mother, by a local bird sanctuary. The solitary male swam around on the pond all by himself looking quite forlorn. I'm not sure where he is now. However, there are two newly wed swans (they look very young) and possibly the imminent signets will be their first arrivals. Can't wait!

I'm trying to enjoy the time I have off work and the above helps. I was advised by my Union and Occupational Health not to go back to work until the University does something about the situation I left a month ago.

I'm feeling stronger for taking time off. I'm realizing, that even though I've worked for years to do what I do, essentially all that matters is me and my wellbeing and I would walk away from all of it if I had to. It's quite a change in me and a good one I think. I had a dream a few nights ago that I ran a juice bar on a double decker bus (I think this might be related to a friend telling me about a man who toured around on a DD bus taking photographs and I'd later found a DD bus for sale...!). Who knows where life will take me :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.