Tidy up team

My idea of housework is to sweep the room with a glance.
~Erma Bombeck


The Nora Diary, Day 23

Pleasant
Got up in good season. Some sun
Washed, scrubbed.
Ruth got ready and
went to Somerville
about two. Went
around to Central Sq.
and did my shopping
Freda arrived
about four. Stayed
until after eight.
Had supper with me.
Left when she did and
went to Somerville.
Sam at George's. Ruth
and I stayed with Edna all night.

Nora is pictured with her brother Paul and Edna, his wife, or perhaps just girlfriend at the time. All lined up outside of their Aunt and Uncle's house in South Lubec. Hamming it up for the camera, or really cleaning, we will never know. The diary entry refers to cleaning her new 'rent' in Cambridge. That's where Nora and Gordon will live after their extended honeymoon in Maine.

Nora has moved in and left the working world of Waltham Watch behind, slipping back into the domestic life of her Maine girlhood. She
was a wonderful cook and baker, preparing most of the meals during their married life. Gordon was helpful and certainly could cook as well, but he sailed on vessels with cooks down in the galley. He settled easily into the routine of just coming to the table when the meals were ready.

Freda is mentioned and for those following the details of the diary and Nora's search for Freda in later years, I have found some information. Addresses on two early letters and public census records opened a few doors. I found her married name and address in 1936 before reaching a dead end. More importantly for me, I think I have found her image, I believe I can put a name with her face and that feels important. Nora mentions in a diary entry that Freda joined them in Maine on their honeymoon, one of the huge crowd that they entertained in a coastal cottage. There will be more about that in later entries. I matched a face in a Cambridge photograph with one in the Maine crowd and bingo, I just knew it was Freda. Today I came across an entry that names the people in the Cambridge photo and one was Freda indeed. She had a lovely face.

Gregory is probably arriving at Gordon's childhood home, our summer place in Maine,shortly. He's relaxing and helping his parents open it up for the summer season. We have had the most wonderfully creative days together and the Nora play work has been so exciting. I've really missed him today, really missed him.

My next task is to contact the granddaughter of Nora's brother, Paul. The families have lost touch and I was able to locate her after finding her dad's obituary online. We share the same great great grandparents. She still lives in Maine, in the town where we used to stop to see her grandfather and grandmother, Paul and Edna. I have her phone number and address thanks to the no privacy world of the internet. Should I call or compose a letter with copies of significant photos. I have so many photographs I want to share with her and perhaps she has such treasures too...call or write, what should I do?

For the Record,
This day came in sunny and dry. Had a nice walk with a friend and I'm back to doing some house chores and sorting archive photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.