Postcards from a grey man

By 8LAD35

April Challenge #13: Something you found

I was struggling for an idea today until one of my Facebook friends commented on yesterday's blip

"Lee, great shot, but of the 41 steps not 39... Although many have now vanished?? It's said to be bad luck to step on the second step from the top as this is the one that Lucretia Smith, the queen of the gypsies, slipped and died on!! I remember playing around there as a kid all the time, but would never step on that step! The gypsy queen is also buried in that graveyard, behind the church. We were always told that if u danced around her headstone at midnight and spit on her grave she would appear in front of you!!"

So, I searched for and FOUND the gravestone for Lucretia Smith, the Gypsy Queen. Incidentally, we have a local pub named The Gypsy Queen in her honour.

It has been commented that it may be dodgy for me to photograph the Gypsy headstone, on Friday 13th. I'm also quite sure that I stepped on the 'cursed' second step yesterday. Have I envoked a Gypsy curse? Bring it on, I've had enough bad luck to last three lifetimes already.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.