MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

UFES Restaurant

During my first experience in this "restaurant" I scoffed to think of college students eating like elementary school kids in the States. They shuffle through the line, plopping rice, beans, and slightly over-cooked veggies or starches on their plates. They reach a station where there are two choices for meat and behind it is a salad bar. The last stop is where some ladies fill your UFES cup with juice, and you can grab either a piece of fruit or an overly-sweetened dessert. But the more I eat here the more I really appreciate it.

This meal is usually pretty delicious, and it's always very filling. It has every major food group too! And the juice is FRESH- even though you only have one option per day, it's usually pretty darn tasty. I realized this is healthier than nearly ANY cafeteria meal I've EVER eaten in the States. And though in my college days I had all kinds of options, I usually ended up with over-cooked pasta with the funky sauce (McNair!!!), greasy pizza, or my favorite go-to, the any-time waffle. Here, I'm eating goooood and the best part? It is only about R$2 (or less than $1.50). How awesome is this??!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.