Old chimney

The area just behind our house was once a flax works. Dundee is known for jute but the flax pre-dated this and the fact there were textile producers here was one of the reasons jute came. (Others are having a port, the connection with whaling industry, as whale oil was used to soften the jute, and burns(streams) to power the mills).
This chimney for boiler house which I assume replaced the waterpower and was originally at least half as high again. When we moved here there was a joinery in the buildings but that closed and the site was derelict for a number of years until it was bought for house building. When they were preparing the site the top of the chimney was taken down, and some of the old buildings were converted to flats. There was also excitement one day when a lorry fell into the hole that had just been dug!
I think I'll do a series of pictures of the old mill works over the next weeks.
Today I bought a new laptop and once it's up and running fully I should find it a lot easier to look at all - well, some of - the wonderful pics on blip
Just realised this is No 400 - how did I get this far?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.