Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Rain

Dark clouds early on today, so I decided to hold off on the blip in the hope of brighter weather later on. Early afternoon and the thunder started and the rain came down, so the planned insect safari was cancelled. Nothing left but to hang around the front of the house and see what comes by. There are always some interesting sites if you wait long enough.

I haven't really covered the rain before, this is because it generally only rains in the mid afternoon and I usually have my blip sorted by then. Yes, the rain was heavy, but I have seen a lot worse than this. I took these shots as a backup, hoping that the rain would pick up and really give me something impressive, but it did not happen. I am kind of glad it didn't, as when it gets really bad, someone is going to suffer bad or even die as a result.

I live on a sloping road, but even this has been six inches deep all the way across at times, but not today. People are not paranoid or phased by the rain like back in the UK, the weather is not high on the list of conversation topics here. The only time people become concerned is when the wet season is late or even does not arrive, then rice crops fail, food prices rise and people suffer.

I picked up five reasonable shots that summed up the rain. I chose this shot because it demonstrated that life goes on despite the mild inconvenience of the rain. I put the rest in folio for those interested.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.