Sneaky Peek

By SneakyPeek

Ignorance is Bliss

I'm a Leither born and bred and have recently moved back after having spent many years away. I was always a regular visitor though as family members still live there. I decided today to take a little trip down memory lane and ended up in my childhood haunts of Giles Street, Tolbooth Wynd and the Shore (now a very different place to the one I grew up in).

I have always been passionate about Leith and am fiercely proud of my roots (like all Leithers) and I found myself falling in love all over again with the diversity and character that overflows out of my special little piece of Edinburgh.

I took lots of photographs but this one turned out to be my favourite. It depicts a solitary figure of a man gazing out over the Firth of Forth and I was more than a little mesmerised by him. In my ignorance (for which I apologise) and at the time of taking the photograph, I had no idea it was an Antony Gormley statue and have since discovered that this was the first of six to be installed in and around Leith and Stockbridge.

The only thing which spoiled a perfect few hours however was the weather - it was bloody cold! The Proclaimers were wrong on this occasion, the sun doesn't always shine on Leith.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.