Point de Vue

By Alsacienne

Country club

Today hubby and I joined our first country club. To say these kinds of places are not our style would be an understatement. However, this one is different.

It was created by the IMF in 1968' then opened to the World Bank (from which I retired last month) and a few other international organizations. Why? Because back in those days, established country clubs in the Washington area did not accept people from "other lands" or with different skin colors. As only 15% of our employees are US, there was a need for an alternate place to provide non discriminatory facilities to our staff and their families. Btw, there still is a club in Washington which does not allow women members....

So there: now we "belong." I'm starting my first golf lesson tomorrow -- before my bad habits take hold :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.