Jaggedy jigsaw

Took Phil back to Birmingham today - another 400 miles or so chalked up!
This time the weather was nice-ish, so took a small detour off the A14 to pick up a blip in Lavenham, Suffolk.

This is the Guildhall, built in about 1529 (incidentally, I think the same year my old, now defunct, school was formed). This is actually called the Guildhall of Corpus Christi and it's original purpose would have been both social and religious, but that particular chapter was shut down by Act of Parliament in 1545 / 47. Since then it has been a prison, town hall, workhouse, almshouse, and a wool store. It's now a National Trust property.

Lavenham is one of the best preserved medieval villages in England and has one of the most impressive 'wool churches' I've seen. That will have to be another blip though.

This photo is comprised of 78 x 2Mp jpeg photos which I have fastidiously pasted together in Photoshop. You can see I started from the left and lost patience the further towards the right I worked:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.