Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...It's about the moment

Today's blip isn't about the photo. Truthfully, it's a pretty mediocre shot. But the day ... now THAT was much better than mediocre! We drove out to Long Island (about 2.5 hours each way) and had a wonderful lunch and visit with my hubs' Aunt Mary. I don't know her well, but we had such a great time talking today. One of the things she and I talked about was how much beauty there is in the simplest things around us, if you only take the time to look and listen. She's a woman in her mid-80's who's survived cancer and the loss of her husband ... and yet she still focuses on finding the beauty around her. Wow.

So, when we got home, I made a dash over to one of my favorite ponds at Kittatinny, hoping to see or hear something special. Now, let me preface this by saying that almost 4 years ago, I had surgery that resulted in the loss of all hearing in my right ear. And, I've missed it. Some days it has sucked. But, let me tell you that the hearing in my left ear is good ... and let me also say that I treasure the things I hear. I like to stand in the woods and listen to wind rustling in the trees, or stand in a meadow and hear the birds singing. Those things have magic for me.

And tonight I experienced a bit of magic. As I arrived at the pond, near dusk, I could hear the black birds with their screechy, distinctive "song". I could even see some of them flitting in the reeds, like this one. And as I walked, their calls got louder and louder and LOUDER. It almost felt as if I was hearing in stereo again. And I looked up to see them all flocking to some of the big trees along the lake ... all that noise I was hearing was them settling in for the night. I tried to get some shots of them high in the trees, but the light was too far gone, and the experience was really about the sound - the glorious sound.

So tonight's blip comes with a humble request that you take a moment this weekend to just sit and listen to something. Have a moment ... on me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.