Distant hills

I think the largest one, more of less in the middle of the picture is Schiehallion, the 'fairy hill of the Caledonians'. I know it is supposed to be visible from Calton Hill in the middle of Edinburgh, and that's where this was taken from. And while it has a more Matterhorn-like triangular shape from further north, for example from the Sidlaw Hills near Dundee, I think it looks a little different from the south-east. I have been to the top (of Schiehallion) once - it is a classic munro (in fact over 1000m/3,500 feet). When I walked up it with some friends from S&N days I'm sure one of them bumped into people they knew from Edinburgh - a small world indeed. There are supposed to be templar links to the mountain. It was also the scene of Maskelyne's famous experiment in the 18th century to calculate the mean density of the earth, as well as demonstrating Newton's theory of gravitation. Basically the idea was to measure the gravitational attraction exerted by the mountain on a pendulum. The mountain was chosen because of its relative isolation and regular, conical shape.

Hmm, seems like I might well be wrong and it isn't Schiehallion. Don't know if I cropped it out (as Max says it would be much further north to the right of the image here) or it wasn't actually visible

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.