The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Wyndley Pool

I was up in my home town of Sutton Coldfield yesterday on a hospital visit, and went to Sutton Park afterwards to clear my head for half an hour or so.

When I was at primary school my Mum used sometimes to make me sandwiches for me to eat beside Wyndley Pool at lunch time so it is a place I have always loved and that was probably one of the experiences that has given me my life long love of nature.

It was good to see that it it is still largely unchanged, though Wyndley Cafe has gone, and enjoyed by today's children in the same way.

The pool and surrounding woodland date from the twelfth century, and it has probably always been home to the swans, gulls, tufted ducks, coots, mallards and Canada geese that thrive there today. Herons, cormorants and other species of waterfowl are apparently to be found there. Sutton Park itself is three hundred years or so older. It is around fifteen months since I have last been there.

L.
15.4.2012

Blip #685
Consecutive Blip #002
Day #752

Alternatives:
Wyndley Pool #1
Wyndley Pool #2
Swan And Ducks On The Pool
Regal Swan

Lens: Pentax 17-70 mm

Backblips:
Wednesday 11 April 2012: Zoo Trip #21: Marwell Wildlife (Ruby Giraffe)
Friday 13 April 2012: Smokey, 1320 hr

Now complete:
Dyrham Park NT, 20 March 2012 (Flickr set)

One year ago: The First Bluebell

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.