Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Skunked!

I took an early walk on one of my favorite trails, but didn't see much in the way of wildlife, other than turtles and some very distant water fowl - too distant even for the likes of Big Daddy. However, as I was walking along the trail, I saw a large patch of skunk cabbage back under the forest canopy in a marshy spot. The drops from last nights rain were still clinging to the new leaves and I just liked the way it looked. So today, you're getting skunk cabbage!

I went to the pond I was at last night and saw some of the red-winged black birds putting on their mating displays, wing spread, lots of swooping about. Too far away to capture and I decided to just enjoy it instead.

Thanks for your comments on yesterday's blip. It was kind of a departure from my normal light fare, and I appreciate being able to express more serious thoughts here from time to time. Lately, I've just had these blinding flashes of gratefulness for all the things around me, and for the gift of hearing and sight. It is good to remind myself that I am so lucky in so many ways. So, thanks for hanging in with me!

I am going to blip something totally DIFFERENT tomorrow, so get ready. Sorry, no more hints...I'm going to let the suspense build. Okay, maybe a tiny hint ... it's bigger than a bird.

Happy Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.