A time for everything

By turnx3

Eastern milk snake

Sunday
I believe I'm correct with my identification, but feel free to correct me! I saw this while we were out biking on the Little Miami trail late this afternoon, in fact I almost ran over it. It's not the best of shots - I only got part of him in focus, but I had to be quick before he slithered across the trail and into the long grass, or before other cyclists came along. The first people along were a couple of teenage girls running - it was quite funny watching their reaction, as they didnt see him until they were practically running across him, and then he made a sudden movement, and they both jumped out of their skin! While we were watching him, a little frog jumped out of the grass onto the bike trail - we thought he was rather precarious there as he was so small, so we coaxed him back into the grass. A bit further along Roger saw an owl land in the other branches of a tree, but too far away to get a picture, especially as I only had my little camera. So it was a pretty good ride from the viewpoint of wildlife. We didnt go too far today, as neither of us were feeling terribly energetic (Roger had been wall=papering in our bathroom, and I had been cutting the grass), and it was really breezy too, so sometimes you had the wind to contend with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.