... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Egyptian Geese

This morning I went back to the pond on Clapham Common to see the Egyption geese and goslings; I was actually quite nervous and feared that the goslings would be depleted in number, but I was thrilled to see that the goose and gander still have all 9 of their goslings!

The coots really wouldn't leave each other alone: there was almost constant coot-coot or coot-moorhen bickering going on which was quite amusing, but then I saw one near me on the bank which was walking with a very dramatic limp which was rather sad.

There was also a cormorant keeping to itself on the pond: it would dive and then resurface a surprisingly long where from the spot where it'd dived. I got one quite nice shot of it, but it was much more shy than the geese or coots and kept towards the centre of the pond, so the shot wasn't as close up as I'd have liked.

I got a sweet shot of the goslings drinking in synchrony by the side of the water, but like this one because it shows not only the goslings but the beautiful plumage of the adult.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.