Hopetoun Street, Ponsonby

Back to Auckland last night. Glad that all that is over for a month. However, I find that concentrating intently for two full days is very tiring, and then today was full, and even when I didn't have appointments there were phone calls, and other tasks, so it has been another long and tiring day.

Took my usual early morning run; I cope better with busy days after a morning run. Increases the metabolic rate and therefore the function of the brain. Maybe. Whatever, it seems to work.

The moon had risen some hours before, and was still low in the sky. Only this sliver of a crescent. Even the little compact camera was able to capture the image of the remainder of the moon. The eastern sky is showing the effects of the pending sunrise. Hopetoun Street runs from Ponsonby Road, where I was when I took this, into the central city. Many old boarding houses line both sides of the street at this end, and on the right can be seen what might be regarded as the modern equivalent; blocks of apartments. To the left at about where the headlights are, is the Auckland Girls Grammar School.

Although some believe Auckland City has no heart, the fact that many people reside or go to school less than a mile from the central business area, tells me that this city is still alive in the way that matters. People live here.

My apologies for few comments, even now. I have had so little time with S since last week, and am tired. The weekend approaches, and with Wednesday being Anzac Day, I have decided to have no appointments until Thursday (after tomorrow). Will be able to indulge in an orgy of looking at peoples' journals

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.