Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

New route and old play

I did the prewalk for Conservation on an Organic Farm. The route, devised by D who is the farmer, is a lovely one, but took some sorting out, especially since she could not come with us at the last minute. Public footpath signs had disappeared from part of the route but we found our way eventually. The route is too long for the festival walk so it's back to the drawing board.

I also lost my GPS whilst walking so had not final measure of the route (other than my legs who thought about 7 miles!)

During the walk we saw loads of lambs (nearly blipped), lady's smock (my first sighting this year), marsh marigolds in flower and cowslips (very nearly blipped).

This is a typical scene from the area. It was very misty so the sky was tricky.

Tonight I took Mum to Close the Coalhouse Door. This is a new production but I reckon about half the audience probably saw the first production in 1968 or in the 70s. I remember how it affected me at that time and it's still a strong play today. Great stuff - try to see it if you can. I suspect it will have an extended season. (Currently at Northern Stage in Newcastle.)

So glad to feel well enough to do all this today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.