Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Monkey Business - Mad at the Blipper!

- I contemplated going to the zoo in Washington, DC today. As expected, I didn't feel like dealing with the tourists and tons of local school children. So instead, we took a 75 mile drive out to the Luray Zoo in Page County Virginia. Page County is extremely beautiful with mountains, rivers, and lots of farms. Here is a photo that I took of that area today - I was really torn on whether to post that or the monkey pic as my blip...

The Luray Zoo a family owned "rescue" zoo that has reptiles (not really interested) and mammals that have been donated by zoo's and individuals. In addition to that, they have a petting zoo with goats, pigs, deer, and buffalo. It is small compared to the big city zoos but it does allow you to get much closer to the animals.

This mother (expecting any day now) came over when I changed the lense on my camera. It was very curious as to what was in the camera bag. When I pulled out a lens, she reached out for it with her legs. To keep her attention, I "teased" her with it (holding it just out of reach) with my left hand while I shot with the other. After a couple of minutes, this frown appeared. Seconds later, a zoo attendant told me not to hold out the lense (which was two feet from her) because if the monkey grabbed it, it would have taken it inside it's cage and it along with the other 4 Capuchin's would have fought over it and eventually taken it apart.

This was the best and most relaxing Friday I have had in a long time - Will have to do this again some time.

This is proably the wordiest blip I've done so far so I'm going to stop typing now. Hope everyone has a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.