flashes like lights

By Degna

This is Clawdeen

I'm not sure how she managed to move in. She's not alone. There are six of them. Frankie Stein, Ghoulia Yelps, Spectra, Draculaura, Laguna Blue and Clawdeen Wolf. They're teenage monsters and they dress in sassy clothes and I seem to have let them move into the girls' bedroom. The heels on Clawdeen's boots would be about ten inches high if she were life size...

Now, they're just dolls. Toys. But I'm wondering why I feel so uneasy. And I'm beginning to see them as more than harmless. How do I counter the message that I've let slide into my house without thinking? The girls like them, love them and they're accompanying TV series and computer games. I should never have let that first Barbie (a gift) over the threshold all those years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.