Let There Be Light

By solli

Lilies of the Valley

I was sprawled flat out on the sidewalk in front of my house, tree pollen stuck in my hair and clothes, eyeball to eyeball with the tiniest of lilies and fairly drunk with the fragrance of them when I heard a voice say "Are you alright?"

I thought it might be my neighbor George, but when I pushed myself up to have a look I was quite surprised to see one of our town's finest standing there. Oh my! What a sight I must have presented!

I waved my camera around and explained that I was a photographer and thanked him for his concern. He nodded and went on his way, no doubt with a graphic image burned into his mind.

A few minutes later, my husband came out front. "What the hell are you doing?" he not so politely asked, shaking his head.

Another car slowed down a few minutes later and stopped. I thought it might be another concerned citizen so I raised myself up to tell them I was alright. Was I ever surprised to see my grammer school friend behind the wheel! She said that she could see my behind from the corner post office was wondering what I was up to and we chatted for a few.

I had a hearty laugh once I got into the house - it seems decorum just flies by the wayside I'm trying to capture an image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.