In My Life...

By steeble

A really old knocking shop?

Went into Durham after I'd finished work tonight. Had a little walk up the Cathederal. I was going to have a wander around but I got there too late so it was majority closed(save it for another day then).

There was a choir singing towards the alter which was brilliant. Not the sort of music I'm into but in no way could i deny how amazing they sounded.

Anyway as theres no photography allowed inside heres a picture of the Sanctuary Knocker(well actually its just the replica, the original is inside) I've always known of the knocker seen it on postcards but after taking this picture reseached it....

According to Durham World Herritage Site: 'Those who 'had committed a great offence,' such as murder in self-defence or breaking out of prison, could rap the knocker, and would be given 37 days of sanctuary within which they could try to reconcile with their enemies or plan their escape.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.