Latitude Living

By QueSeraSara

Good Enough for Julia (not to mention Kathy)

My kitchen is nothing fancy. It is colorful but lacks cupboards and countertops that allow it to be functional for more than one person. I used to wish for a "Julia Child" kind of kitchen, meaning big and with all sorts of special spaces for making delicious dishes. That is, before I read her autobiography and realized that she worked in kitchens at the beginning of her culinary career in France that were similar to what I have now. If those kitchens were good enough for Julia, then mine is more than adequate, as long as I have sharp knives. Today, I made a tasty meatloaf for dinner. Kathy, who is not normally fond of meatloaf, thought it good enough to take a second serving.

Here are a few of my favorite quotes from Julia Child:

Always remember: If you're alone in the kitchen and you drop the lamb, you can always just pick it up. Who's going to know?

Be a fearless cook! Try out new ideas and new recipes, but always buy the freshest and finest ingredients, whatever they may be. Furnish your kitchen with the most solid and workmanlike equipment you can find. Keep your knives ever sharp and -- toujours bon appetit!

Always start out with a larger pot than what you think you need.

I enjoy cooking with wine, sometimes I even put it in the food I'm cooking.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.