MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Storms over Cuiabá

Chris and I are champions! Got up after maybe 2 hours of sleep, had our breakfast, cradled "Nebraska" as the kitty from yesterday might end up being called... and hit the road with our guide up North a little bit to some really sweet rock formations somewhat reminiscent of the Badlands in the Dakota's.

While on a small hike, we sat on a rock outcrop overlooking the ranching valley of Mato Grosso and the storms that had just passed us. I was lucky enough to catch this lightning strike- I think it's my first very clear lightning shot! This area is kind of a dry savannah land, but in the moist valleys there's a lot of great forest. Our guide told us it's kind of the boundary between the Ceara (I think..) and the Amazon, so there are a lot of great animals to hear and see!

Tomorrow- into the thick of the Pantanal! Tonight- lots and lots of sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.