Edinburgh Chap's Photos

By GilesGuthrie

An Historic Building? (112/366)

Yesterday's two trips to the "new" Royal Commonwealth Pool filled me with the sort of malaise I feel whenever I think of the human race today.

After a 30-month closure for a £37.5m refit, my overwhelming impression of an opportunity wasted. When some delusionalists successfully campaigned for the building to be listed, it disqualified the only real plan (razing it to the ground and starting again) from the architect's options. Now we're left with an expensive old building being valiantly run by staff hamstrung by an outdated architecture.

It's difficult not to think of it as £37.5m largely wasted at the hands of a "special interest group" who lack the vision to achieve progress. And I'm afraid that's rather what I think of the human race in this post-Shuttle, post-Concorde world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.