atoll

By atoll

Welcome to Manchester

Now I am not one of these Johnny-Come-Lately Manchester United supporters of Roy Keane's Prawn Sandwich Brigade that drive up from Luton and sit silently through the games, so I think I am entitled to a bit of a moan on this gloomy northern day (I will snap out of it).

Born and raised in Worsley, Salford not far from Old Trafford in the 1960s I didn't have a choice then, and have always supported United (there is genuinely only one) ever since - apart that is, from a very brief period between 1971 - 1974 supporting Leeds (I know, I know .... we all have our little skeletons in the closet, but I did have my own self-survival reasons, having just moved to a new Junior School in 1971 with my fathers new job in Lewis's Leeds......oh and Leeds then under Don Revie were briefly a breath of fresh air to football). I came back to sense ironically immediately when the 1973/4 United side got relegated to the old second division, but then came back up a season later.

Who can forget Denis Law's backheeled goal to send us down though. Forgiven certainly, but not forgotten!

Anyway, the point of this gloomy rant is that I left my mums in Silsden at 12:30 to drive home to Knutsford whilst listening to the Everton game at Old Trafford on Radio 5 Live. First problem, it was not on, so had to make do with little soundbites inbetween the Bahrain Grand Prix - a dissapointment but not a disaster. Anyway, things were going in typical eratic Man U fashion following an early conceded goal, but with 10 minutes to go the lead was a comfortable 4:2. No problem I thought, time to relax and put the pressure back on City against Wolves at 4pm.

Wrong.

The gloomy forecast was first foretold by this roadside photo taken just before the Red's capitulation as I pulled off the A56 near Rawtenstall to take a mobile call. The game of course ended up 4:4 with now all the pressure on the City vs United game on 30th April.

Will history look back with El Apache Tevez seen as playing a contemporary role of Law and stumpy equivalent of a classical Judus or Marcus Brutus? I hope I am wrong, but have this feeling our Noisy Neighbours have still got something up their sleeve.

Lets hope I am wrong and poor-old Wolves can do us a favour in the meantime, whilst also saving themselves from the certainty of relegation to boot.

Kick of in 9 minutes and counting.......




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.