Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Wet-bellied Woodpecker

It is hard to believe that the gals and I were all hanging out on the deck yesterday enjoying warm temps and sunshine. The temps today were in the 50's and by noon the rain had arrived. Peg and Kura left this afternoon to drive back into NYC; Ellen returned to Princeton last night. Now it's just the hubs and the cats and I rattling around in the house. It always feels empty after visitors leave.

I overdid things a bit this weekend in terms of noise and am paying the price today with a pretty significant bout of fatigue - it is just my brain's way of reminding me who's really in charge here! And, a little fatigue is a small price to pay for a wonderful weekend with the gals.

After everyone left, I retired upstairs for some quiet time with my camera, and some shots from a different angle, looking down on the feeding station. I got a cute shot of aBedraggled Tufted Titmouse , but this shot of the female red-bellied woodpecker was my pick for the day because 1) you can really see the red belly for which she is named, and 2) she looks thoroughly irked about the rain! And HERE is a shot of her mate, coming in for an awkward landing.

I am looking forward to seeing what everyone has been up to this weekend, and hope your all had as much fun as I did!

Happy Sunday...

PS: If anyone is interested, take a peek at Cornell's red-tailed hawk cam to watch
the eggs hatching! ! It can apparently take a day or two for this process to complete.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.