Life, not as we see it.

By GOT

Dad, does my bum look big in these?

Went out today to wander around the Muslim quarter and an artists area beside the South gate in the city wall, but determined not to go shopping. Failed miserably! Walked down a side-side street rather like a Souk and ended up purchasing all sorts of souvenirs and wee presents, both for selves & family. Now where was that ATM?

We had also intended visiting the Grand Mosque in the Muslim Quarter but once we had braved half of the souk and found the entrance we saw that the main building was covered in green construction netting so we didn't bother. My previous Arabian / Muslim experiences and my resultant attitude actually made me feel a bit hypocritical even considering entering, so we saved a few bob and salved my conscience.

Relaxed in Pub Street for a while and vanished a few Tsingtao's and wandered through a housing area where stalls and a covered market offered a huge choice of produce and products. Fantastic perfume of veg & spices, slightly tainted by dead animal parts wilting on the butcher's slab.

Lots to see around the arty area - zillions of souvenir stalls and numerous galleries selling everything from tourist tack pictures through traditional Chinese subjects and even a few contemporary paintings, but nothing that we wanted (sufficiently) to bring home.

Got back to the hotel late afternoon and I had a shower - too hot as it turned out and I had a "funny turn". Disorientated and confused for a wee while but that passed after I drank a whole lot of water. Is this what maturity brings, I ask myself. (Physical maturity, not mental, before you lot pass comment!)

This evenings tasks:-
a) Find a decent restaurant where we can get something to eat which is not a western clone, but is identifiable / recognisable.
b) Repack rucksacks and grips to try and get the weights to an airline acceptable distribution.

Neither of these are simple tasks, I can assure you all.

Tally Ho!

PS Photo is really for Louise and all new mothers. See how they save on nappies here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.