An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

If Tiredness Kills....

...then I have a fatal disease! Really struggling to keep my eyes open! Earlier to bed tonight!

Got John (stepdad) coming for dinner in a little while (haggis, neeps and tatties - yum :-) so need to give myself a shake!

Lovely afternoon at work though. Had a meeting with S who I met through work. She works for another organisation so we're not actually colleagues (if that makes sense!) and we have become friends.

S is a force to be reckoned with. A complete inspiration and one of life's doers. She doesn't understand the meaning of the word can't. Impossible is two letters too long in her dictionery.

Brought up in a small, rural community she moved to Glasgow to attend uni, gained her degree, bought a flat, holds down a very stressful and important job, takes leave from work to go and volunteer in an orphanage for disabled children in Kenya, raises money for said orphanage by doing sponsored walks and gives her time to be one of our Board of Governors.

She is well travelled - two trips to New York in the past year and just got back from a Hen Weekend in Blackpool yesterday so was feeling a tad delicate! Oh and for kicks she likes to jump out of aeroplanes!!!

Her lust for life leaves me breathless and humbled because S has cerebral palsy and it's a physical struggle most days just for her to get out of bed in the morning. But nothing bar the odd hangover :-)) stops her.

Not bad considering when she was a child, her Consultant told her mum the best she could hope for was that the local supermarket would take pity on S and let her stack some shelves!!! (Her uncle still calls her The Little Shelf Stacker! LOL!)

She was just the tonic I needed today to get me out of my moaning minny frame of mind (I sound such a miserable cow on yesterday's blip! ) I know it's just because I am tired and I know how lucky I am to be in the position to I am, chosing lovely new stuff for our new house. So no more moaning!

In another of life's funny coincidences, I dicovered today that one of S's jump put of plane buddies is the painter and decorator we use! It really is a small world!

Right! Need to go and shave the haggis. Will do my best to be back later to do some catching up with you all :-)) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.