Collaboration

It was a grey start to the day and mid-morning I was startled by a series of loud announcements over the intercom.

Attention Please
Attention Please

The emergency is now over
The emergency is now over

Thank you for your cooperation
Thank you for your cooperation

This was repeated for a minute or two; the officelings at first tittered. And then grew irritated at the interruption to their work. But it began to sink in with me. There had been an emergency which I hadn't been aware of. Now, thankfully, it was clearly over and those responsible dealt with. I was thanked for my cooperation, although I was aware I had done little. I had made no fuss. I had not asked unnecessary questions about the nature of the emergency or how it had been brought to an end, I was just glad it had been. Those in positions of trust had done their duty. We are privileged to live and work here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.