an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Enquiry

Work and an early train took me to Fleet Street today. I ended up getting up to the big city earlier than expected which meant I could have a wander with the camera. At first I thought I would blip the street art by the river but then I didn't realise I would be walking right past the front of The Royal Courts of Justice where the Leverson Enquiry is currently underway.

At first I thought I was at some sort of blip meet there were so many big cameras around peoples necks, then the telly cameras gave it away that it was actually a news event. I stop very briefly and then wandered on to find my destination. Minutes later I was at my destination very early so I decided to wander back to the courts to see if any news would unfurl.

It turns out that Murdock Junior was due at the enquiry and the cameras were there as a greeting party. There does seem some irony that so many journalists were covering the event. I heard one photographer say that he was on his way but it turns out the phone call he must have been listening to was wrong as I found out later that Junior was already inside after arriving an hour early.

Anyway the protesters at the main gates put on quite a good show with their excellent masks and I have already seen some of the pictures that were taken by the photographic chaps in front of me in the evening papers. I have to say I was expecting there to be a bit more of a bun fight for the pictures but they all seemed quite happy to take pictures around each other or simply stand and chat to each other.

I only had camera number two on me, which is more compact than my dslr so I was getting some funny looks from the professionals as I took pictures around them but then maybe that was a good thing, maybe they would have turned ugly had I looked more adequate on their patch.

After a while it was time to go to my work destination. The office I was in had an incredible view of the city though I had to spend the next few hours watching presentations on screen. They were pretty good really though one other person there obviousley didn't think so as they fell asleep. This in itself was quite a feat as they were sittting next to the man who was presenting. They did manage to wake at the end in time for the lunch to request the presentation be sent to them.

And with that I was on my way out of the city with a bag of crisps and an apple in my pocket. On my way back the cameras were still waiting and rolling, with little chance of sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.