Leith #10 - Commecial Quay

First day at work today. I would have liked to take a more exciting picture today but the fact that I could only take it after work, and it was raining, didn't help. I do like this fish sculpture outside Commercial Quay.

Commercial Quay is at the heart of what is known as new Leith and it houses lots of trendy restaurants, bars and cafes along it. This is the old dock area in Leith, namely the East and West old docks and the Victoria dock. Running the full length of the south side of these docks, there's a building that used to serve as a bonded warehouse and whisky bottling plant.

It is located just off Commercial St in Leith. During the 1960's and 70's, Leith suffered a decline which led to low housing standards and high unemployment. The centre of Leith around the old docks built along the banks of the Water of Leith was the area that suffered the most; however, this area underwent an extensive redevelopment and the former cooperage and warehouses that run along it were eventually converted into flats and now, in Commercial Quays, you can find some of the most successful restaurants and bars in Edinburgh as well.

Didn't have much time for research today, so that's all I could manage. It might not be entirely accurate either, but I hope it gives you a bit of background of the place.

I'm feeling really tired after work today, so I'll have something to eat, I'll do a final reading of the translation I did for my friend and I'll go to bed.

Thanks very much for all your nice comments on my Shore blip! I was on Spotlight! I hope you all had a good day! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.