Fi's Foibles

By purpleicious

paper work

Today has been a paperwork day. My idea of filing used to be to shove everything into a drawer, & when the drawer could hold no more, then the contents would either get shredded, binned, or safely transferred to where they should have gone in the first place, i.e. the deep drawer at the bottom where there's a perfectly serviceable set of suspended files (tut, & to think I used to be a highly efficient secretary). However, I no longer have a 'shove everything in until it's full' drawer, & so have instead been using a plastic tray on the desktop; the new benchmark for when filing can no longer be avoided is when the heap of paper in the plastic tray rises above the level of the windowsill thus getting in the way of closing the curtains. Today was such a day. I'd have got on a lot quicker (but not had half so much fun) if Jack hadn't kept nudging me to play 'toss the rope' with him; I wondered why hubby wasn't entertaining him whilst I was engaged in such an important task (in his ideal world there would only be one kind of filing cabinet: round, made of chrome, with a pedal at the base to lift the lid, & generally to be found in the kitchen - hence the job falls to me!), but hubby was engaged in his own version of paperwork.
I was really glad when he started sketching again, as it generally means that he's feeling less stressed - no mean feat when he's lumbered with a wife like me! However, I wasn't quite sure what to make of his 'masterpiece', as to my knowledge he's never been traumatised by PC World, & so far as I'm aware (& sincerely hope) his PC is nowhere near ready to be consigned to the great technology tip. Anyway, he asked me to take a photo of it to send to our grandson (now there's a talented artist), but said: "Don't you dare show it to anybody else". And so I'm not. I mean, his creation was a pencil sketch, whereas this is quite clearly done in chalk, & so thanx to a little Photoshop trickery I've managed to turn the only photo I took today into something blippable, plus give an insight into my hubby's troubled mind - though not half as much trouble as I'll be in if he finds out what I've done!

Things we've learned about Jack:
He can't get enough of playing with his new rope
He is - thankfully - not in the least perturbed by thunder, of which we've had rather a lot today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.