When I Get Old

I'm on a donkey kick lately and so I stopped at the Vet School library and leafed through the big professional manual. I found these pictures touching and I decided that when I'm "elderly" I would like to be a donkey like the one at right. But I won't be. Prospects for my twilight years are quite bleak, of the kind one might not wish to think about.

I saw an old friend today and asked after her Mom, expecting to learn of the old lady's death. Nope! Last time I was in her area (in France) I could not visit her because she was past ninety and sick. Now I learn that she's ninety-eight and doing great! She's taken up a whole new life in a nursing home. I hope I get to see her again --more likely than my earlier wish.

Oh well. Life goes on, and life is good just now. At least I mellow a bit as the years pass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.