the edges of my life

By raej

Not what I planned

Woke up at 1 am with excruciating pain in my kidney - yay a kidney stone! Took a while to find a taxi but by 3.30am was tearing into Hanoi - me with my head hanging out the back window like a dog (it was a 40 degrees day) trying to avoid the moments the driver spat out his front window in my direction. Then trying to direct him where to go (he was from one of the small villages in Tam Dao and didn't know Hanoi) - twice we ended up going the wrong way on the highway with oncoming traffic - being Asia everyone just kept going at high speed .... Finally get to the emergency centre set up for foreigners - get some drugs, a drip line and ultrasound revealing two stones - but thankfully small - so am now holed up in a cheap hotel room drinking liters of water to flush them out..... The bill was just under $1000 (gulp) and they need to see me tomorrow.......not at all what I planned.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.