A Glass Of Chess

About two years ago I scored a glass chess set at the nearby thrift shop for a few dollars. I bought it on impulse and it sat on a shelf for all the time I had it. Then about a year ago I donated it to the game shelf of my favorite cafe, but I've never happened to see it used. Today, as I noodled away on my laptop, these two young guys set it up and played.

I took a few pictures and said that I'd be looking for a game or two in future. It's been bothering me that I've neglected chess since my teenaged years.

The mosaic tiled table was made in 1999 when the first incarnation of the Satellite Cafe, called the Comet, was opened. This is the third location of the family business. Daughter's name is Halley. She's about ten now. Here is one of several blips I've gathered here.

There's nothing like an aluminum cup of mud and a glass of chess to send you into orbit on a clear day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.